Weekly Feature



2018-07-11 / Business

M&T Bank launches 49th season of lunchtime concerts

M&T Bank recently announced the 49th anniversary season of its Plaza Event Series.

The 11-week concert series is the longest-running free concert series of its kind in the United States.

This year’s Plaza Event Series, which carries the slogan “Brighten Up Your Day,” will feature 54 performances this summer. It began June 11, with the season’s last performance scheduled for Aug. 24. Six new acts have been added to the lineup, and several favorites will continue their longtime streaks of Plaza Event Series appearances.

For the fourth year running, the season will feature local food trucks each weekday, including The Flaming Fish on Mondays, Chef’s on Tuesdays, Cheesy Chick on Wednesdays, The Blend on Thursdays and Dickey’s BBQ Pit on Fridays.

When One M&T Plaza was designed, its architect envisioned the outdoor plaza becoming a gathering place for downtown Buffalo. One year after the building opened, the Plaza Event Series began and fulfilled the plaza’s historic intended purpose.

M&T Bank is encouraging the public to use #PlazaEventSeries to share their photos, video and memories on social media.

The full list of remaining artists for the 2018 concert series is as follows:

Thursday, July 12 — Ultraviolet

Friday, July 13 — Carnival Kids Steel Orchestra

Monday, July 16 — Anatara

Tuesday, July 17 — Buffalo Philharmonic Orchestra (Note: Begins at 11:45 a.m.)

Wednesday, July 18 — Only Humen

Thursday, July 19 — Taylor Made Jazz

Friday, July 20

— McCarthyizm

Monday, July 23

— “In Jest” Comedy Variety Show with Nels Ross

Tuesday, July 24 — Fat Brat

Wednesday, July 25 — Queen City Swing

Thursday, July 26 — Colleen Williams and The Bobby Jones Trio

Friday, July 27 — Metropolitan Voices of Unity

Monday, July 30 — Joseph Michael Mahfoud Band

Tuesday, July 31 — Big Wheelie & The Hubcaps

Wednesday, Aug. 1 — Jim Tudini Big Band

Thursday, Aug. 2 — Breakaway

Friday, Aug. 3 — African American Cultural Center’s Dance & Drum Performance Company

Monday, Aug. 6 — David Kane’s Them Jazzbeards

Tuesday, Aug. 7 — Ramblin’ Lou Family Band from WXRL Radio

Wednesday, Aug. 8 — Caribbean Extravaganza

Thursday, Aug. 9 — JJ Swing

Friday, Aug. 10 — Denzel Ward & The Cool Platinum Band

Monday, Aug. 13 — Boys of Summer

Tuesday, Aug. 14 — The Rod Nickson Project

Wednesday, Aug. 15 — The Kensingtons

Thursday, Aug. 16 — Joyryde & The Hitmen Horns

Friday, Aug. 17— Terry Buchwald’s Tribute to Elvis

Monday, Aug. 20 — Unity Band

Tuesday, Aug. 21 — Mike Randall & Friends

Wednesday, Aug. 22 — Dave Constantino Band

Thursday, Aug. 23 — The Lake Effect

Friday, Aug. 24 — SuperCharger

For further information about the series or becoming a performer in the 2019 lineup, call 842-5237.

Return to top


Clarence Special Events 2018
Click for schedule